Common questions

How many rounds are there in Ashoka Chakra?

How many rounds are there in Ashoka Chakra?

The Ashoka Chakra is a depiction of the Dharma Chakra; a wheel represented with 24 spokes in Buddhism. It is so called because it appears on a number of edicts of Ashoka, most prominent among which is the Lion Capital of Ashoka.

How many strokes are there in Indian flag?

75th Independence Day 2021: The Ashok Chakra seen on the Indian National flag is rendered in a navy blue colour on a white background. The Ashoka Chakra has 24 spokes which inspire every Indian to work tirelessly for 24 hours.

Why is Ashok Chakra blue?

Many inscriptions of Emperor Ashoka have a chakra (wheel shape) which is also called Ashoka Chakra. The circle is of blue colour. It is said about its color, blue color Represents the sky, the ocean and the universal truth. Hence the blue colored Ashoka Chakra is in the center of the white stripe of the national flag.

Who insert Ashoka Chakra in Indian flag?

The symbol was initially the spinning wheel but on the recommendation of Dr BR Ambedkar was turned into the Ashoka Chakra, the eight-spoked wheel of Buddhism.

Which is saffron colour?

Saffron is a shade of yellow or orange, the colour of the tip of the saffron crocus thread, from which the spice saffron is derived. The hue of the spice saffron is primarily due to the carotenoid chemical crocin.

How many spokes are in the Ashoka Chakra?

There are 24 spokes in the Ashoka Chakra which represents 24 qualities of a person. In other words, these spokes can be termed as the 24 religious paths made for humans.

What is the meaning of the Ashok Chakra?

Ashok Chakra is symbol of Dharmchakra and also known as Samay Chakra in which all the 24 spokes represents 24 hours of the day and symbol of the movement of the time. However, the 12 out of 24 spokes represent the twelve causal links taught by The Buddha.

When was the Ashoka Chakra added to the Indian flag?

The most visible use of the Ashoka Chakra today is at the centre of the Flag of India (adopted on 24 July 1947), where it is rendered in a navy blue colour on a white background, replacing the symbol of charkha (spinning wheel) of the pre-independence versions of the flag.

What are the 24 Dharmas of the Chakra?

The 24 dharmas are as follows: Love, courage, patience, peacefulness, Magnanimity, goodness, faithfulness, Gentleness, selflessness, self-control, self-sacrifice, truthfulness, righteousness, justice, mercy, gratefulness, humility, empathy, sympathy, moral values, spiritual wisdom, spiritual knowledge, the fear of God and faith.

Share this post