What country is the opposite side of Antarctica?

What country is the opposite side of Antarctica?

Antipodes: The Other Side of the World

Svalbard, Norway McMurdo Sound, Antarctica
Bermuda Perth, Australia
Bogota, Colombia Jakarta, Indonesia
Lima, Peru Bangkok, Thailand
Asuncion, Paraguay Taipei, Taiwan

What country is on the other side of the globe?

Did you know? In the Northern Hemisphere, “the Antipodes” is often used to refer to Australia and New Zealand, and “Antipodeans” to their inhabitants. The two largest human inhabited antipodal areas are located in East Asia (China, Mongolia) and South America (Argentina and Chile).

What country is on the other side of the world from Alaska?

So what’s the antipode of the Quad Cities? The exact spot is off the southwest coast of Australia, somewhere in the middle of the Indian Ocean. It’s interesting to note that most of Antarctica is at a higher latitude than the most northern part of Alaska!

What country is directly opposite of the United States?

From anywhere in the continental United States, the exact opposite is somewhere in the Indian Ocean—between Australia and Africa. The map superimposes the inverse globe on top of itself to illustrate antipodes—the diametrically opposite point from any place on Earth.

What country is directly opposite New Zealand?

The antipode of any place on the Earth is the place that is diametrically opposite it, so a line drawn from the one to the other passes through the centre of Earth and forms a true diameter. For example, the antipodes of New Zealand’s lower North Island lie in Spain.

Are there any countries that live in Antarctica?

Antarctica is a unique continent in that it does not have a native population. There are no countries in Antarctica, although seven nations claim different parts of it: New Zealand, Australia, France, Norway, the United Kingdom, Chile, and Argentina. The Antarctic also includes island territories within the Antarctic Convergence.

Where is Antarctica located in the southern hemisphere?

Antarctica (/ æ n ˈ t ɑːr t ɪ k ə / or / æ n ˈ t ɑːr k t ɪ k ə / ()) is Earth’s southernmost continent.It contains the geographic South Pole and is situated in the Antarctic region of the Southern Hemisphere, almost entirely south of the Antarctic Circle, and is surrounded by the Southern Ocean.

Who are the other countries that have claims to Antarctica?

Australia currently claims the largest area. The claims of Britain, Australia, New Zealand, France and Norway are all recognised by each other. Other countries participating as members of the Antarctic Treaty have a territorial interest in Antarctica, but the provisions of the Treaty do not allow them to make their claims while it is in force.

What kind of landmass is Antarctica without ice?

Without any ice, Antarctica would emerge as a giant peninsula and archipelago of mountainous islands, known as Lesser Antarctica, and a single large landmass about the size of Australia, known as Greater Antarctica. These regions have different geologies. Greater Antarctica, or East Antarctica, is composed of older, igneous and metamorphic rock s.

Share this post