What is a government pay grade?

What is a government pay grade?

A GS pay grade is a rate of basic pay based on the specific level of work or range of difficulty, responsibility, and qualifications. If you’re new to the government, your pay will likely be set at the starting salary for the pay grade for which you are selected.

What does NF mean in government jobs?

NF-5 Top Management. NF-6 Senior Executive NAFI crafts, trades, and labor positions use the following designations: NA Nonsupervisory positions. NL Leader positions. NS Supervisory positions.

What are the government grade levels?

The General Schedule

  • GS-3 or GS-4: Typically internships or student jobs.
  • GS-5 to GS-7: Most entry-level positions.
  • GS-8 to GS-12: Mid-level positions.
  • GS-13 to GS-15: Top-level supervisory positions.
  • Positions beyond GS-15 are part of the Senior Executive Service.

What is the NT pay band?

The NT-05 pay band encompasses positions equivalent to the GS-13 and GS-14. The salary range shown in the announcement represents all of the positions within the band, including GS-14 equivalent (high grade) positions.

How is government salary calculated?

The basic salary is calculated by multiplying it by 2.57 which is in addition to allowances like Dearness Allowance (DA), Traveling Allowance (TA), House Rent Allowance (HRA). For instance, if a person’s basic salary is Rs 18,000, then his salary would be 18,000x 2.57= Rs 46,260 which will be without allowances.

What is a GS 04 grade level?

GS-4 is the 4th paygrade in the General Schedule (GS) payscale, the payscale used to determine the salaries of most civilian government employees. The GS-4 pay grade generally marks an entry-level position. The hourly base pay of a Step 1 GS-4 employee is $12.90 per hour1.

What is NAF employee?

A Nonappropriated Fund (NAF) employee is a person who is employed in, and receives compensation from a Nonappropriated Fund Instrumentality (NAFI). NAF employment is different from civil Service federal employment because salaries for NAF employees are not allocated by Congress.

Is a NAF employee a federal employee?

NAF employees are federal employees of the Department of Defense. Unlike their civil service counterparts, who are paid from funds appropriated by Congress, NAF employees’ salaries are paid for from the funds generated by the Force Support activities on the base (Clubs, Golf Course, Bowling Center, etc).

What GS grade do I qualify for?

GS Levels by Education

GS-1 No high school diploma
GS-7 Bachelor’s degree plus 1 year of full-time graduate study
GS-9 (GS-11 for some research positions) Master’s degree or 2 years of full-time graduate study
GS-9 Law degree (J.D. or LL.B.)

What is a pay grade 7?

Starting salary for a GS-7 employee is $37,674.00 per year at Step 1, with a maximum possible base pay of $48,978.00 per year at Step 10. The hourly base pay of a Step 1 GS-7 employee is $18.05 per hour1.

What is NT 04 equivalent to GS?

NT-04 is basically the same as GS-11/GS-12 with the payband starting at GS-11 step 1 and ends at GS-12 step 10.

What is a NH 04 pay grade?

Schriever, Colorado: Position will be filled at NH-04 Medium starting salary of $110,604 to $153,161 (17.78% locality), unless statutory/regulatory rates prevail.

What does grade mean on the pay scale?

A ‘grade’ refers to the General Schedule (GS) pay scale – it’s the pay level for the job. The higher the grade level, the higher the pay.

Where does the federal wage grading system apply?

Coverage of the system. The common job grading system covers jobs in the executive agencies as indicated in the. Operating Manual for the Federal Wage System. In effect, it applies to most trades and labor jobs outside the postal field service that are paid from appropriated and nonappropriated funds.

How are jobs classified in the federal government?

Positions within the Federal Government are classified by occupational series, grade or pay level, and pay plan. Pay plans identify the pay system under which the position is covered. Many white-collar employees are paid under the General Schedule (GS), which is regulated by title 5 and administered by OPM.

What are the different pay schedules for NAF?

The NAF system consists of 3 different pay schedules: Crafts and Trades (NA, NL, NS); NAF Pay Band. (NF); and Child Care (CY). Crafts and Trades (CT) wage schedules are set at a given amount and the. employee must complete both time and shifts in the position to receive a step increase.

Share this post