What islands make up the Mediterranean?

What islands make up the Mediterranean?

Large islands in the Mediterranean include:

  • Cyprus, Crete, Euboea, Rhodes, Lesbos, Chios, Kefalonia, Corfu, Limnos, Samos, Naxos, and Andros in the Eastern Mediterranean.
  • Sicily, Cres, Krk, Brač, Hvar, Pag, Korčula, and Malta in the central Mediterranean.

What continent is just north of Libya?


Which sea is located towards the north of Libya and Egypt?

Land. Libya is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea on the north, Egypt on the east, Sudan on the southeast, Niger and Chad on the south, and Tunisia and Algeria on the west.

What 5 major islands does the Mediterranean include?

  1. Sicily, Italy – 9,927 square miles.
  2. Sardinia, Italy – 9,300 square miles. Credit: CAHKT / iStock.
  3. Cyprus – 3,572 square miles. Credit: tunart / iStock.
  4. Corsica, France – 3,352 square miles. Credit: sam74100 / iStock.
  5. Crete, Greece – 3,190 square feet. Credit: Gatsi / iStock.
  6. 5 Largest Mediterranean Islands. April 15, 2019.

Which is the largest Mediterranean island?

The largest island in the Mediterranean, Sicily has the three Cs — culture, cuisine and calm.

Is Libya near the Mediterranean?

Libya is located on the northern edge of the African continent. It shares borders with several other nations: Tunisia and Algeria to the west, Niger to the southwest, Chand and the Sudan to the south, and Egypt to the east. Its northern boundary is the Mediterranean Sea.

Where is the Gulf of Sidra located?

The Gulf of Sidra is an indentation of the Mediterranean Sea into the coast of Libya. The city of Sirte, located on the Gulf, is a major port. The Gulf is 275 nautical miles wide at its opening between the Libyan cities of Misurata and Benghazi.

How many inhabited islands are in the Mediterranean?

There are over 3,000 islands and many more islets in the Mediterranean Sea. Its two largest in terms of both size and population are the Italian islands of Sicily and Sardinia. The 10 largest islands of the Mediterranean Sea are: Sicily – capital city Palermo in Italy – 25,662 sq km.

Which is the biggest Mediterranean island?

What are the countries that border the Mediterranean Sea?

The 6 European countries that border the Mediterranean are Spain, France, Monaco, Italy, Greece, and the island country of Malta, which is located south of the Italian island of Sicily.

How big is the Mediterranean Sea in km?

At its longest, the sea is 3,800 km long; at its widest, it is 800 km. The Mediterranean Sea is bordered by Europe to the north, Africa to the south, and Asia to the east. To the west is the narrow Strait of Gibraltar, between Europe’s Iberian Peninsula and North Africa, which connects the Mediterranean Sea to the Atlantic Ocean.

Where are the Strait of Gibraltar and the Ionian Sea?

To the west is the narrow Strait of Gibraltar, between Europe’s Iberian Peninsula and North Africa, which connects the Mediterranean Sea to the Atlantic Ocean. The Ionian Sea lies to the north, between southern Italy and Greece.

Which is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea?

With an area of 9,251 sq. km, and population of 1,198,580, Cyprus is the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean. Although Malta is considerably smaller in size (316 sq. km), it is the sixth most populous Mediterranean island with 502,650 people living within its territory.

Share this post