Common questions

What region does Honduras belong to?

What region does Honduras belong to?

Central America
Honduras, officially Republic of Honduras, Spanish República de Honduras, country of Central America situated between Guatemala and El Salvador to the west and Nicaragua to the south and east. The Caribbean Sea washes its northern coast, the Pacific Ocean its narrow coast to the south.

What are the 4 regions of Honduras?

Map of Honduras regions and cities

  • Tegucigalpa and around.
  • Southern Honduras.
  • The central highlands.
  • The western highlands.
  • Olancho.
  • The north coast.
  • La Mosquitia.
  • The Bay Islands.

How is Honduras divided into regions?

For purposes of local administration, Honduras is divided into 18 departamentos. Governors are appointed by the president, one for each department, to carry out central government decisions. The departments are divided into municipios (municipalities), which are further partitioned into aldeas (villages, or hamlets).

Is Honduras North or South America?

Central America, southernmost region of North America, lying between Mexico and South America and comprising Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Belize.

Is Honduras in the Southern Hemisphere?

Honduras is found at a latitude of 15.2000° N and a longitude of 86.2419° W. Based on these GPS coordinates, it is clear to see that Honduras is part of the northern and western hemispheres.

What are the three climate types found in Honduras?

Honduras is a country in tropical Central America with three main climates: the hot and humid Caribbean coast, the central highlands which have milder temperatures due to the altitude, and the small Pacific coastal section, which is hot and dry.

How many municipalities are in Honduras?

298 municipalities
of 298 municipalities. The country is also divided into 18 departments (departamentos) for administrative purposes. Departments are hierarchically above municipalities.

How many districts are in Honduras?

18 departments
Honduras is divided into 18 departments (Spanish: departamentos).

In which continent is Honduras?

North America

Where is Honduras in North America?

Honduras is located in Central America, the southernmost edge of the continent of North America. Central America includes seven countries: Nicaragua, Honduras, Guatemala, Panama, Costa Rica, Belize, and El Salvador. The capital city of Honduras is Tegucigalpa.

What are some of the major landforms in Honduras?

Mosquito Coast. Sparsely populated and difficult to navigate,the lagoons,swamps and jungles of the Mosquito Coast in eastern Honduras contain some of the most diverse and unusual plant and

  • Pico Bonito.
  • Lago de Yojoa.
  • Bay Islands.
  • Copan Ruins.
  • What are the geographical features of Honduras?

    Honduras physical features. Honduras has three distinct topographical regions: an extensive interior highland area and two narrow coastal lowlands. The interior, which constitutes approximately 80 percent of the country’s terrain, is mountainous.

    What are facts about Honduras?

    World Facts. Honduras is a small country located in Central America. The flag of Honduras. With a bustling tourist economy, Honduras is a small beautiful country located in Central America.The country is bordered by Nicaragua , El Salvador , Guatemala, the Caribbean Sea, the Gulf of Honduras , and the Gulf of Fonseca .

    What are the major bodies of water in Honduras?

    Honduras is water-rich; the most important rivers include the Aquan, Coco, Patuca , Sico and Ulua; Lake Yojoa is the only significant lake, and the Caratasca Lagoon in the northeast is the largest of many coastal lagoons.

    Share this post