Popular articles

What is a CPT descriptor?

What is a CPT descriptor?

Current procedural terminology (CPT) is a set of codes, descriptions, and guidelines intended to describe procedures and services performed by physicians and other health care providers. Each procedure or service is identified with a five-digit code.

What is the format used in CPT?

A CPT code is a five-digit numeric code with no decimal marks, although some have four numbers and one letter.

What is the main text of the CPT manual?

Information is organized in the Introduction, the main text, which is divided into six sections (Evaluation/Management, Anesthesia, Surgery, Radiology, Pathology and Laboratory, and Medicine), the Appendices, and the Index.

Where can I find CPT code descriptions?

For quick access to a list of CPT® codes and descriptions, working medical coders typically use software with procedure code lookup, though these tools are also available to students.

What is the format of most CPT codes?

Each CPT code is five characters long, and may be numeric or alphanumeric, depending on which category the CPT code is in. Don’t confuse this with the ‘category’ in ICD.

How are main terms indexed in the CPT manual?

The CPT manual is organized according to three categories of codes. Each level of a section provides more specificity about the procedure or service performed and the anatomic site or organ system involved. The alphabetic index is based on main terms such as an anatomic site or diagnosis.

What is the format of modifier?

A modifier is a word, phrase, or clause that modifies—that is, gives information about—another word in the same sentence. For example, in the following sentence, the word “burger” is modified by the word “vegetarian”: Example: I’m going to the Saturn Café for a vegetarian burger.

What is the format of ICD codes?

ICD-10-CM is a seven-character, alphanumeric code. Each code begins with a letter, and that letter is followed by two numbers. The first three characters of ICD-10-CM are the “category.” The category describes the general type of the injury or disease. The category is followed by a decimal point and the subcategory.

How many Category Codes are found in the CPT manual?

There are three categories of CPT Codes: Category I, Category II, and Category III.

What do the symbols mean in the CPT manual?

Star symbols identify codes that, when appended by modifier 95, can be used to report telemedicine services. The Bullseye symbol to denote codes with moderate sedation is NO LONGER USED in the CPT manual!

Which is the best description of a CPT code?

Most CPT ® codes are Category I codes. These represent existing services or procedures widely used and, when appropriate, approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). With two exceptions, Category I codes, denoted by five numeric characters, are arranged in numerical order.

When was the Current Procedural Terminology ( CPT ) published?

Current Procedural Terminology (CPT ®) codes were first published in 1966 and are developed, maintained, and copyrighted by the American Medical Association (AMA). Thousands of CPT ® codes are in use, and they are updated annually. They fall into three categories:

When was the 5 character CPT code created?

The five-character CPT ® codes are used by insurers to help determine the amount of reimbursement that a practitioner will receive for services provided. Current Procedural Terminology (CPT ®) codes were first published in 1966 and are developed, maintained, and copyrighted by the American Medical Association (AMA).

Share this post