Popular articles

What is the official language of the United Kingdom?

What is the official language of the United Kingdom?

United Kingdom/Official languages

What is the official language of the United States Army?

English is the operational language of the Army. Soldiers must maintain sufficient proficiency in English to perform their military duties. Their operational communications must be understood by everyone who has an official need to know their content, and, therefore, must normally be in English.

Is English official language?

English is one of the official languages of the United Nations, the European Union, NAFTA, the African Union, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, the Caribbean Community, the Union of South American Nations, and many other international organisations.

Why English is an official language?

Most countries with English as an official language were British territories. As the British Empire began colonizing and expanding power in the 17th century, it brought the English language around the world. English was used in the colonies and native people were often forced to learn the language.

Why doesnt America have an official language?

There are multiple reasons that English is not declared as the official language of the United States. Colonists immorally dominated the Native Americans and forced their languages on them; however, this was not just English. There were Spaniards, French, and more colonists from other European countries.

How many official languages does the United Nations have?

six official languages
There are six official languages of the UN. These are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

Does the United States need an official language?

The United States is one of a few nations in the world to have no official language designated. While the Constitution gives no reasoning for this, many reasons have been suggested by experts.

What is the official language of New York?

New York (state)

New York
• Official language None
• Spoken language English 69.6% Spanish 15.2% Chinese 3.1% French 1.6% Russian 1.2% Italian 0.9% Yiddish 0.7% Hindi/Urdu 0.6% Arabic 0.5% Korean 0.5%
Time zone UTC−05:00 (Eastern)

What US states have official language?


  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii (also lists Hawaiian as an official language)
  • Idaho
  • What is the US’s official language?

    The official language in the United States is English. The United States has no official language, however, English tends to be the lingua franca in most places.

    Should the US designate an official language?

    Essay. Currently, the United States has no designated official language. Although it is perceived as an English speaking nation, there has been a ranging debate among the voting public as to whether English should be the official language.

    What are the top 5 languages spoken in the US?

    The top five languages spoken in the country are English, Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. Despite the many languages spoken in the US, the country does not have an official language. English is only a de facto primary language in the country.

    Share this post