What states have a Great Lake shoreline?

What states have a Great Lake shoreline?

The lakes are divided among the jurisdictions of the Canadian province of Ontario and the U.S. states of Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York.

What state has the most Great Lakes shoreline?

Michigan has the longest freshwater coastline in the US. World Book Encyclopedia (v. 13, p. 500 of the 2000 edition) states that Michigan’s shoreline, at 3,288 miles is “more than any other state except Alaska.

Which of the Great Lakes can only be found in the United states?

Lake Michigan
Lake Michigan is the only Great Lake that is entirely within U.S. territory. The Great Lakes touch 8 states – but Michigan is the only state that touches four lakes, with borders on Superior, Michigan, Huron and Erie.

Which state has the most shoreline including lakes and rivers?

According to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the state with the most shoreline is Alaska, with 33,904 miles. Second place is Florida, with 8,436 miles of coastline. Third is Louisiana’s 7,721 miles.

Is Pennsylvania a Great lakes state?

The Great Lakes region of North America is a bi-national Canadian–American region that includes portions of the eight U.S. states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin as well as the Canadian province of Ontario.

What state in the United States has the most coastline?


State or territory Method 1 (CRS)
Coastline Rank
Alaska 6,640 mi (10,690 km) 1
Florida 1,350 mi (2,170 km) 2
California 840 mi (1,350 km) 3

What states does Lake Erie border?

Lake Erie, fourth largest of the five Great Lakes of North America. It forms the boundary between Canada (Ontario) to the north and the United States (Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York) to the west, south, and east.

Which is the state with the most shoreline on the Great Lakes?

To conclude, this chart clarifies why Michigan is truly the Great Lakes State with three times as much shoreline as the next state, Wisconsin. Michigan has 23.3% of the total shoreline of the Great Lakes compared to 8.5% in Wisconsin.

How many states do the Great Lakes touch?

The Great Lakes touch 8 U.S. states plus Ontario, Canada. Those states are Minnesota,Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York. Here is a list of the states that each of the 5 massive lakes make contact with and a few facts about each.

Are there any states that border the Great Lakes?

Illinois is one of the eight US states that border the Great Lakes. Located in the Midwestern United States, Illinois covers an area of 149,967 square km and has an estimated population of 12,802,023 people. The state shares its borders with Wisconsin, Iowa, Missouri, Kentucky, Indiana, and Michigan.

Which is the smallest of the Great Lakes?

Pennsylvania – Borders Lake Erie to the east. New York – Borders Lake Erie to the northeast and borders one other Great Lake. The final and smallest of the Great Lakes is Lake Ontario. Even though it is the smallest by surface area, it is a deep lake having 4 times the volume of Lake Erie.

Share this post