Which is the No 1 district in India?

Which is the No 1 district in India?

List of Largest Districts of India by Territorial Area.

Rank District State
1 Kachchh Gujarat
2 Leh Jammu and Kashmir
3 Jaisalmer Rajasthan

How many districts total in India?

List of Districts in India 2021. A district (zilā in Hindi) is an administrative division of an Indian state or union territory. As of 2021, there are a total of 742 districts in 36 States/UTs of India.

Which state has highest district in India?

Uttar Pradesh
Uttar Pradesh has the largest number of districts in India. Uttar Pradesh has 71 Districts followed by Madhya Pradesh – 50, Bihar-38 Maharashtra – 35 & Rajasthan-33 districts.

Which district is biggest in India?

List of districts in India

Areas Largest: Kutch, Gujarat—45,652 km2 (17,626 sq mi) Smallest: Mahé, Puducherry—8.69 km2 (3.36 sq mi)
Densities Largest: Central Delhi, Delhi Smallest: Lower Dibang Valley, Arunachal Pradesh
Government District Administration
Subdivisions Tehsil, Taluka, Mandal Blocks

What is the exact total number of districts in India?

There are 28 states and 9 union territories in India, As of 2019 there are a total of 725 districts. Kutch district of Gujarat is the largest district in India by area followed by Leh from Ladakh and five more biggest districts from the royal state of Rajasthan.

What are the 7 union territories of India?

India’s seven union territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, National Capital Territory and Pondicherry. Now you may be curious as to why the division of power between states and unions worked out this way in India.

What is the total number of States in India?

India consists of 28 states and 8 union territories, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi. In August 2019, the Indian Parliament passed a resolution to divide the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh, which came into action on 31 October 2019.

How many states and union territories India?

States and Capitals of India: FAQs Q1. How many states are there in India? Ans. Q2. How many states and union territories are there in India? Ans. Q3. Which Union territories was merged in January 2020? Ans. Q4. Which state has been bifurcated to make union territory? Ans. Q5. What is the Capital of India? Ans. Q6. Who is the head of Union Territory?

Share this post