Who would control the new territory from the Northwest Ordinance before it became a state?

Who would control the new territory from the Northwest Ordinance before it became a state?

Under this ordinance, each district was to be governed by a governor and judges appointed by Congress until it attained a population of 5,000 adult free males, at which time it would become a territory and could form its own representative legislature.

How did a territory become a state under the Northwest Ordinance?

Once sixty thousand people resided in a territory, they could apply for statehood. The people could form a constitutional convention, draft a state constitution, and then submit the document to the United States Congress for approval.

How was the Northwest Territory acquired?

The region was ceded to the United States in the Treaty of Paris of 1783. Conflicts between settlers and Native American inhabitants of the Territory resulted in the Northwest Indian War culminating in General “Mad” Anthony Wayne’s victory at Battle of Fallen Timbers in 1794.

Who approves a territory proposed constitution?

Congress received the proposed Constitution from the Philadelphia Convention. September 28, 1787. Congress voted to send the Constitution to the legislature of each state. Congress asked each state to hold a special convention, which would either ratify (approve) or reject the Constitution.

What was the Northwest Territory First governed by?

The celebrated revolutionary war general Arthur St. Clair established the first territorial government on 15 July 1788. Because of increased migration, Congress in 1800 divided the Northwest Territory for administrative purposes and designated the western portion as the territory of Indiana.

What was the Northwest Territory Ordinance of 1787?

Northwest Territory (1787) The Northwest Ordinance (formally An Ordinance for the Government of the Territory of the United States, North-West of the River Ohio, and also known as The Ordinance of 1787) enacted July 13, 1787, was an act of the Congress of the Confederation of the United States.

What was the territory of the Northwest Territory?

The Northwest Territory included land that existed outside of the original 13 states, comprised of what is now Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.

When was the 150th anniversary of the Northwest Ordinance?

On July 13, 1937, the U.S. Post Office issued a 3-cent commemorative stamp to mark the 150th anniversary of the Northwest Territory as defined by the Ordinance of 1787.

Where was the first organized territory of the United States?

It created the Northwest Territory, the first organized territory of the United States, from lands beyond the Appalachian Mountains, between British North America and the Great Lakes to the north and the Ohio River to the south. The upper Mississippi River formed the territory’s western boundary.

Share this post